Toronto Public Library’s Black History Month programming includes talks with Kardinal Offishall, Cherie Jones, Eternity Martis & more!

The Toronto Public Library has a ton of incredible programming planned to celebrate and honour Black History Month—and everything is FREE!

If you’re looking to read more Black Canadian authors, or want a booklist inspired by Black Lives Matter,  they’ve curated reading lists for every age group. But since you can (and should) borrow those books throughout the year, it is the extraordinary lineup of not-to-be-missed events this month that we want to ensure is on your radar! Plan ahead and save your spot.

Before the 6ix: Kardinal Offishall ‘Quest for Fire’ 20th Anniversary

Before the 6ix is a series that connects the dots from Toronto’s present-day internationally recognized hip-hop influence to the rich and vitally important roots of its past.

Kardinal Offishall sits in-conversation with journalist Del F. Cowie to discuss the legacy of Quest for Fire: Firestarter Volume 1. Register now. 

Wed Feb 10, 2021
7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
60 mins

Cherie Jones: How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House

Cherie Jones’ debut novel is in the tradition of Zadie Smith and Marlon James. Set in Barbados, How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House, is an intimate and visceral portrayal of interconnected lives across race and class in a rapidly changing resort town, following four people confronting violence and love in a beachfront “paradise”.

Join Cherie Jones as she discusses her debut novel, How the One-Armed Sister Sweeps Her House. Save your spot. 

Fri Feb 12, 2021
12:00 p.m. – 1:00 p.m.
60 mins

Resiliency of Black Youth: Addressing Mental Health and Anti-Black Racism

What is mental health? What is racism? What is intersectionality? And what do they all have in common? Join our discussion with Registered Social Worker and Psychotherapist, Tracy Ampofoh and Kwaku Agyeman, where we will provide information on mental health, racism (specifically anti-Black racism) and how they intersect. Participants will leave with a better understanding of these topics, available support and resources & tangible tools to use.  Join the conversation.

Fri Feb 19, 2021
5:30 p.m. – 7:00 p.m.
90 mins

Eternity Martis: They Said This Would Be Fun

In her debut memoir They Said This Would Be Fun, award-winning journalist Eternity Martis gives us an honest inside look at the dominant racist and sexist attitudes that plague modern day campus life. As she pursued her undergraduate degree, Martis faced everyday microaggressions and full-blown racist attacks while still trying to navigate the pressures of student life.

Join Eternity Martis as she discusses her book and the experiences that created it.

Tue Feb 23, 2021
7:00 p.m. – 8:00 p.m.
60 mins

These are just a few of the dynamic discussions that are planned for this month. Head to the Toronto Public Library site to view full roster of programming. 

 

 

 

Post Comment