SheDoesTheCity attended the 2024 JUNO Nominee Announcement ceremony this morning and we’re thrilled to see some of our favorite Canadian women and non-binary artists being recognized! The iconic Grammy-Award winner Nelly Furtado also made a special appearance to speak with guests and celebrate the nominees.

With 6 nominations, Montreal singer-songwriter Charlotte Cardin leads the way. Viral sensations Tate McRae and LU KALA also scored multiple nominations, and Tegan and Sara will be honoured with the prestigious 2024 Humanitarian Award for their charitable achievements and support of 2SLGBTQ+ women and girls. More highlights from the nominee list (and previous SheDoesTheCity interviewees!) include The Beaches, Luna Elle, Katie Tupper, Jah’Mila, Haviah Mighty, and Mae Martin

Omega Mighty and Haviah Mighty on the JUNOS Nominee Announcement red carpet. Haviah was nominated for Rap Single of the Year and Rap Album/EP of the Year, while Omega was nominated for Reggae Recording of the Year for her song Rush Dem, featuring 4Korners and Haviah.

The artists nominated for the 53rd Annual JUNO Awards represent Canadian excellency at its finest. This year’s winners will be announced in Halifax, Nova Scotia at the JUNO Opening Night Awards Presented by Music Canada on Saturday, March 23 and The JUNO Awards Broadcast on Sunday, March 24, live on CBC. Special performers include Charlotte Cardin, Nelly Furtado, and The Beaches! 

For this year’s special TikTok JUNO Fan Choice Award, fans will be encouraged to vote here or by searching “JUNOS” on TikTok. Voting will end during the broadcast before the live presentation at the award ceremony! 

Here are some nominees from this year’s highly-anticipated categories:

TikTok JUNO Fan Choice

  • Charlotte Cardin 
  • Daniel Caesar 
  • DVBBS 
  • Josh Ross
  • Karan Aujla 
  • Shubh 
  • Tate McRae 
  • The Weeknd 
  • ThxSoMch 
  • Walk off the Earth 

Single of the Year

  • Confetti – Charlotte Cardin 
  • Always – Daniel Caesar 
  • Pretty Girl Era – LU KALA 
  • A Little Bit Happy – TALK 
  • greedy –  Tate McRae

International Album of the Year

  • Gettin’ Old – Luke Combs 
  • HEROES & VILLAINS – Metro Boomin 
  • One Thing At A Time – Morgan Wallen 
  • SOS – SZA
  • 1989 (Taylor’s Version) – Taylor Swift 

Album of the Year

  • Néo-Romance – Alexandra Stréliski
  • 99 Nights – Charlotte Cardin 
  • NEVER ENOUGH – Daniel Caesar 
  • Mirror – Lauren Spencer Smith 
  • Lord of the Flies & Birds & Bees – TALK 

The Artist of the Year

  • Charlotte Cardin
  • Daniel Caesar 
  • Lauren Spencer Smith 
  • Shania Twain 
  • Tate McRae

Breakthrough Artist of the Year

  • Connor Price 
  • Karan Aujla
  • LU KALA 
  • Shubh 
  • TALK 

Group of the Year

  • Arkells 
  • Loud Luxury 
  • Nickelback 
  • The Beaches 
  • Walk off the Earth

Breakthrough Group of the Year

  • Busty and the Bass 
  • Crash Adams 
  • Good Kid 
  • Men I Trust 
  • New West

For the full list of nominees, visit The JUNO Awards website.

More red carpet photos we LOVED:

Luna Elle on the JUNOS Nominee Announcement red carpet

Katie Tupper on the JUNOS Nominee Announcement red carpet

Jah’Mila on the JUNOS Nominee Announcement red carpet

OKAN on the JUNOS Nominee Announcement red carpet